RAWWAR

Joan Leandre, In Name of Kernel series: Magic Line, video, 2022
Charles Csuri, Random War, lithograph, 1967
Antoine Schmitt, Frontal, generative software, 2015
Disnovation.org, War Zone, video, 2013 -2014
Casey Reas, Operation Teapot, generative video and software, 2017
Patrick Lichty, Space Invaders, tapestry, 152 x 203, 2003-2014
RAWWAR

Charles Csuri, Disnovation.org, Joan Leandre, Patrick Lichty, Antoine Schmitt, Casey Reas

Exhibition: May 6 – June 25, 2022

In the group exhibition “RAWWAR”, DAM Projects approaches the currently omnipresent topic of war. The six artistic positions deal with this topic on a superordinate level. With their general validity beyond time and place, they are intended, on the one hand, to create a certain distance to the current and very close events in Ukraine. On the other hand, however, it is precisely by their meta perspective that they open up new aspects for the discussion about this specific war. 

The installation artist, programmer and theorist Antoine Schmitt (FR) deals with processes of movement and analyses them in spatial, social and philosophical terms. In the exhibition, he shows two generative software works from the series “War” (2015), which simulate war dynamics. Inexhaustible armies of programmed pixels clash like soldiers on the battlefield, fighting and displacing, surrounding, attacking and eliminating each other, being endlessly replaced. 

Patrick Lichty (US) is a media artist, curator and author. He works with various classic and newer media such as video, graphics, digital tapestry, virtual reality, augmented reality and artificial intelligence. One  characteristic of his approach is the bridging of the analogue and the digital, of handcraft and software calculation, of materiality and immateriality. His tapestry exhibited here shows the large-pixelated “Space Invaders” from the video game of the same name, one of the first gaming world hits from 1978, attacking the White House. Beneath this friendly and playful surface lies the dead serious questioning of the reasonableness of wars. 

Charles Csuri (US), pioneer of computer art and a World War veteran, who died only a few weeks ago aged 99, is represented in “RAWWAR” with the iconographic lithograph “Random War” (1967-1968). It is the result of a software work that was first shown in 1968 in “Cybernetic Serendipity” at the ICA London, one of the first major exhibitions of digital art. The work is considered a trailblazer for the computer game. Scattered on the white sheet are red and black outline figures of soldiers with their rifles at the ready. The image information is fed from a computer-generated list of soldiers’ names, in which software randomly decides who is killed, injured, missing or commended. . Created at the height of the Vietnam War, this work is a factual and accurate commentary on the objectification and dehumanisation of soldiers on the playing field of war. 

Casey Reas (US) is a media artist, software developer and professor. He primarily creates software-generated art that is manifested dynamically as moving images or statically as a graphic. In recent years, he has often taken the opposite approach, reducing existing image material instead of constructing it from scratch. In the case of his video work “Operation Teapot”, he uses historical television images of atomic bomb explosions that are highly simplified but still clearly recognisable as such. It is not only the high degree of figurativeness that is unusual for Casey Reas, making this work stand out from his oeuvre. It also displays a personal reference to the artist that is otherwise not as pronounced.  

Joan Leandre (ES) mainly works with computer games, which he deconstructs by software modification and reassembles in own narratives. In each case, he focuses on certain elements typical of games such as flight simulation, jungle landscapes and warlike actions. The series “In the Name of Kernel” (2019) outlines a narrative of war, a recurrent element of computer games, acute and confrontational as the central action or subliminal as a latent threat in the background. Dream-like fractured and layered set pieces of imagery are complemented by an ambient sound design that adds a strangely aesthetic and intriguing tone to the unsettling, apocalyptic atmosphere. 

DISNOVATION.IRG (FR) is an international collective of media artists. The group sees itself as a critical force at the intersection of art, science and hacking. In the video work “War Zone” (2013-2014), they used Google Earth to retrace launches and trajectories of war missiles from different eras and conflicts around the world. However, one sees nothing of the missile itself or its impact. This enables both a clear recognition of the situation and an inner distancing from the process.

Opening hours
May 6 – June 25, 2022
Wednesday – Friday: 1 – 6 PM
Saturday: 12 – 4 PM
And by arrangement

Address
DAM Projects
Horstweg 35
14059 Berlin
030 76802417

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

RAWWAR

Joan Leandre, In the Name of Kernel Serie: Magic Line, Video, 2019
Charles Csuri, Random War, Lithographie, 1967
Antoine Schmitt, Frontal, Generative Software, 2015
Disnovation.org, War Zone, Video, 2013 -2014
Casey Reas, Operation Teapot, Generatives Video und Software, 2017
Patrick Lichty, Space Invaders, Tapisserie, 152 x 203, 2003-2014

RAWWAR

Charles Csuri, Disnovation.org, Joan Leandre, Patrick Lichty, Antoine Schmitt, Casey Reas

Ausstellung: 6. Mai – 25. Juni 2022

In der Gruppenausstellung “RAWWAR” nähert sich DAM Projects dem derzeit omnipräsenten Thema Krieg. Die sechs künstlerischen Positionen befassen sich auf einer übergeordneten Ebene mit diesem Thema und sollen einerseits durch die allgemeine, zeit- und ortsungebundene Validität eine gewisse Distanz zu den gegenwärtigen, uns sehr nahen Geschehnissen in der Ukraine schaffen. Andererseits aber eröffnen sie gerade durch den Blick von dieser Metaebene aus neue Aspekte für die Diskussion über diesen spezifischen Krieg. 

Der Installationskünstler, Programmierer und Theoretiker Antoine Schmitt (FR) beschäftigt sich mit Prozessen der Bewegung und analysiert sie in räumlicher, sozialer und philosophischer Hinsicht. In der Ausstellung zeigt er zwei generative Softwarearbeiten aus der Serie “War” (2015), die Kriegsdynamiken simulieren. Unerschöpfliche Armeen von programmierten Pixeln prallen wie Soldaten auf dem Schlachtfeld aufeinander, bekämpfen und verdrängen sich, umzingeln und attackieren sich, löschen einander aus, werden endlos ersetzt. 

Patrick Lichty (US) ist Medienkünstler, Kurator und Autor. Er arbeitet mit diversen klassischen und neueren Medien wie Video, Grafik, Digital Tapestry, Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality und Artificial Intelligence. Ein Merkmal seiner Herangehensweise ist die Überbrückung von Analogem und Digitalem, von Handarbeit und Softwareberechnung, von Stofflichkeit und Immaterialität. Seine hier ausgestellte Tapisserie zeigt die grobpixeligen “Space Invaders” des gleichnamigen Videospiels, eines der ersten Gaming-Welthits von 1978, die das Weiße Haus attackieren. Unter dieser freundlichen und verspielten Oberfläche verbirgt sich die todernste Frage nach der Sinnhaftigkeit von Kriegen. 

Von Charles Csuri (US), Pionier der Computerkunst und Weltkriegsveteran, der erst vor wenigen Wochen 99-jährig verstarb, ist in “RAWWAR” die ikonografische Lithografie “Random War” (1967–1968) zu sehen. Sie ist das Ergebnis einer Softwarearbeit, die erstmals 1968 in „Cybernetic Serendipity“ im ICA London gezeigt wurde, einer der ersten großen Ausstellungen von Digitaler Kunst. Die Arbeit gilt als wegbereitend für das Computerspiel. Auf dem weißen Blatt sind rote und schwarze Umrissfiguren von Soldaten mit angelegtem Gewehr verstreut. Die Bildinformation speist sich aus einer computergenerierten Liste von Soldatennamen, bei der eine Software per Zufallsprinzip darüber entscheidet, wer getötet, verletzt, vermisst oder auch geehrt wird. Entstanden am Höhepunkt des Vietnamkrieges ist diese Arbeit ein sachlicher und treffsicherer Kommentar zur Objektifizierung und Entmenschlichung von Soldaten auf dem Spielfeld des Krieges.

Casey Reas (US) ist Medienkünstler, Softwareentwickler und Professor. Er macht in erster Linie softwaregenerierte Kunst, die sich dynamisch als Bewegtbild oder statisch als Grafik manifestiert. Seit einigen Jahren geht er auch oft den umgekehrten Weg und reduziert vorhandenes Bildmaterial, anstatt welches von Null auf zu konstruieren. Im Fall seiner Videoarbeit “Operation Teapot” (2017) verwendet er historische Fernsehbilder von Atombombenexplosionen, die stark vereinfacht aber noch eindeutig als solche erkennbar sind. Es ist nicht nur der für Casey Reas ungewöhnlich hohe Grad an Gegenständlichkeit, der diese Arbeit aus dem Rahmen seines Schaffens fallen lässt. Auch weist sie einen sonst nicht so deutlichen persönlichen Bezug zum Künstler auf. 

Joan Leandre (ES) arbeitet in erster Linie mit Computerspielen, die er durch Softwaremodifikation dekonstruiert und in eigenen Erzählungen neu zusammensetzt. Dabei fokussiert er jeweils auf bestimmte game-typische Elemente wie Flugsimulation, Urwaldlandschaften und kriegerische Handlungen. Die Serie “In the Name of Kernel: Magic Line” (2019) umreißt ein Narrativ vom Krieg, der in Computerspielen oft präsent ist, akut und konfrontativ als zentrale Action oder unterschwellig als latente Bedrohung im Hintergrund. Traumartig brüchige und geschichtete Versatzstücke von Bildern werden vervollständigt durch ein Ambient-Sounddesign, das der beunruhigenden, apokalyptischen Atmosphäre eine seltsam ästhetische und faszinierende Note gibt. 

DISNOVATION.ORG (FR) ist ein internationales Kollektiv von Medienkünstlern. Die Gruppe versteht sich als kritische Kraft an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Wissenschaft und Hacking. In der Videoarbeit “War Zone” (2013–2014) haben sie mit Google Earth Abschüsse und Flugbahnen von Kriegsraketen aus verschiedenen Zeiten und Konflikten weltweit nachvollzogen. Man sieht jedoch nichts von der Rakete selbst oder ihrem Einschlag. Dadurch ist sowohl eine klare Situationserkennung als auch eine innere Distanzierung vom Vorgang möglich.

Öffnungszeiten
6. Mai – 25. Juni 2022
Mittwoch – Freitag: 13 – 18 Uhr
Samstag: 12 – 16 Uhr
Und nach Vereinbarung

Adresse
DAM Projects
Horstweg 35
14059 Berlin
030 76802417

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.